Matthew Shaffer statement on becoming Central SC Alliance chairman

July 11, 2022

"Being a board member and serving on the executive committee of the Central SC Alliance for several years, I am excited for this opportunity to serve as Chairman. My term comes at an interesting time, amidst national economic uncertainty and a change in the trajectory and impact of COVID. In consideration of these factors, the value proposition of the Central SC Region is poised for growth and should be extremely attractive for business development and attraction. Along with CSCA’s talented new President and CEO, a new mayor at the City of Columbia, and several new county economic developers, I am eager to harness this energy and work with them to shape the Region’s collective future. The stability we have demonstrated in these challenging times along with our assets of available land, office space, and workforce stand us in good stead for the future.

On behalf of the Board, I would like to recognize and thank outgoing Chairman W. Keller Kissam for his tireless work and vision during a time of great transition at the CSCA. We owe Keller a debt of gratitude for his leadership, his consensus building, and his diligence to the mission at hand. I hope to carry on the legacy of this type of leadership for the benefit of all concerned.

In addition to Nelson Lindsay, the CSCA has a dedicated staff committed to this mission, and we could not succeed without their efforts. Their business development expertise in research, marketing, and international business recruitment continues to serve the communities and economies of the City of Columbia and eight member counties of Calhoun, Clarendon, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lexington, Newberry, Orangeburg, and Richland. I am humbled to have been chosen to lead such a dynamic and diverse group all committed to the Region’s success and quality of life!"

- Matthew Shaffer, Chairman, Central SC Alliance; Senior Vice President, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina

Read the official announcement of new Central SC Alliance Board members